ARSE !

21 Dec 2020 08:30 #49250 by StuartC
Well last night both my secondary hard drives decided to make them self Read only.
Attempts to correct that are automatically being undone again as fast as they written.
I was in FG At Blackpool, when to respawn on Iceland and FG told me it was missing files. Went investigating and all .exe files in my FG folder were gone. Went to copy them from my other drive and thats when I noticed the drives were set as Read only.
No ide how or why, but at the current moment, I am without any access to FG or any other sim or game installed on those drives.

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

21 Dec 2020 09:27 #49251 by Porcius
Sounds like a Trojan or Ransomware infection but could be something else, as I'm no expert.
Run a Virus check and run malwarebytes as well.

Good Luck matey !

Porcy

Lightning DOES strike twice.

Watchmen Quote - "I am looking at the stars.... Thier light takes so long to reach us. All we ever see of Stars are thier old photographs"

21 Dec 2020 12:11 #49253 by Vodoun da Vinci
:( :pinch:

Uh Oh....Sounds like an attack.

VooDoo

21 Dec 2020 12:28 #49254 by StuartC
system is clean. Thhe Primary HD where windows is installed is fine. The other 2 drives, including the new one installed last tuesday defaut every folder you create on them to read only and you cant remove the attribute. I have even flattened and repartitioned one of the drives, but it still does it.

21 Dec 2020 13:48 #49256 by Porcius
Ah ha ! - I read some where, coz I was looking for a new external drive, that some makers are shipping their drives with inbuilt software that 'protects' the files for security.
Didn't read too much more but that's what it sounds like to me ?

You need to do some research, by the look of it, moosh.

Porcy

Lightning DOES strike twice.

Watchmen Quote - "I am looking at the stars.... Thier light takes so long to reach us. All we ever see of Stars are thier old photographs"