Hello from the Midlands, UK

23 Jun 2016 21:01 #29325 by ScottBouch
Hi all, I just joined up as I heard that you are developing some EE Lightning models, and I wanted to offer any information and experience that would help the project out.

I have spent almost every Saturday for about 20 years volunteering on two T5 Lightnings at Cranfield, Xs452 and XS458, so can offer knowledge gained from real hands-on experience.

I now have a family, so can't spare every Saturday, but I do offer free remote tech-support to aircraft preservation groups, which so far have included Vulcan, Shackleton and Jet Provost.

Regarding the Lightnings I have the aircrew manual for F3, T5 and f6; the pilots notes for F3, T5 and F6, and ground handling notes for T5.

I'm also a gas turbine control system engineer by trade, dealing mainly with Industrialised Avons, so can supply Acceleration and Deceleration data to help make engine response realistic.

I hope to be of some use, Cheers, Scott.
Attachments:
The following user(s) said Thank You: Algernon, StuartC, Porcius, Richard, Warty

Please Log in or Create an account to join the conversation.

23 Jun 2016 22:16 #29326 by Warty

ScottBouch wrote: . .I'm also a gas turbine control system engineer by trade, . . . .

First of all, welcome aboard :) And what timing! Maybe you could add something to this thread . I'm ex -avionics so my only involvement with them was when they wouldn't start - not at all uncommon (normally a transmitter or Start Control Unit fault). Once they got to self sustaining and the governing took over they were of no real concern to me.

Cheers

Mac 10.14.1 Mojave, FG 2018.3.5
The following user(s) said Thank You: ScottBouch

24 Jun 2016 00:28 #29328 by Algernon
Hi Scott. Thanks for registering. You already sound like a man much after our own hearts! :)